JavaScript Warning

This site relies on JavaScript for critical functionality. Please enable JavaScript and reload the page.

How do I close my Fidelity account?

Your Fidelity account is closed in different ways, depending on what has been instructed on the account to bring the balance to zero.

If you have transferred your account to another provider, your account will automatically close and any residual cash received into the account after this will be paid to your new provider.

If you have made a full withdrawal and the balance of the account is now zero, the account will stay open for 12 months to allow for any residual dividend payments to be applied and available for withdrawal. After the 12 month period the account will be closed.

Click here for a guide on how to withdraw cash from your account and bring the balance to zero.